Tasting notes to be published

I’m planning to regularly publish different tasting notes. With this blog I will try to explain my way of tasting and my way of writing the notes. I will state immediately that any tasting note and/or scoring of whisk(e)y is personal. My score won’t be yours. So be careful if you decide to buy a bottle only because I scored the whisky very high! Especially while I’m at the beginning of my career as a writer of tasting notes, read them and I hope you enjoy reading about it.
When I write a tasting note, I start by writing something about the whisky on hand. This can be very short, or if it’s a whisky with a story sometimes quite long. I will use this to have a reference for further buying decisions. I will always be trying to taste and score the dram multiple times, however occasionally I only have an sample, so I can taste it between two or three times to make my “final” decision about the dram. So I will always state this. Second I will state which glass I used for the tasting as I’ve discovered that whisky can smell different by using a different glass. Next there will be the standard tasting note, containing four categories (nose, taste, finish and balance). A dram can score 25 points for each of these categories. Finally I will state something about the price range and my perception of it.
In time, as I hope my experience with tasting good whisk(e)y I might alter this system, but for now it works for me!

About gjr71

Whisky enthousiast, working for a auditing firm. Loves Whisky, Wine, Music and a good meal.
This entry was posted in My way of writing tasting notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

